oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

YES on Proposition 2

Live in California? Be sure to vote yes on Prop 2!

Celebrating the Freedom to Read

So I’d like to thank Dan Kleinman from safelibraries.org for helping me wrap up Banned Books Week. He left me a link to safelibraries.org which states on their site “Children Are Not Safe in Public Libraries.” And I couldn’t agree more with him.

Why? Because children belong in libraries with their parents, guardians or other adults – how else can they learn about glories of reading without someone to guide them? My reply back to anyone who tells me books should be banned is “Read the banned book with your child.” It’s how children learn what is right and wrong. It is how they learn who they are.

I could have just deleted the link… but then, that would be censorship.

So I ask, rather than banning, burning and seizing books… read them. Read them with your children. Just read.

12 responses

  1. Monty Q

    MomBean’s giving you a standing ovation-she used to be a kid’s librarian before she had the little beans.

    4-October-2008 at 11:02 pm

  2. Your posts are so interesting! I even like the cooking ones despite being totally undomesticated, haha! I’ve given you an award so please drop by to collect it if you like:) xxx

    4-October-2008 at 11:27 pm

  3. Monty’s mom is right. A standing “O” for you!

    Roxy

    4-October-2008 at 11:44 pm

  4. OK yes on Prop 2. I read and read and read to my son, I read until I was hoarse, and I see now that we read a lot of banned books! What fun!

    5-October-2008 at 1:08 am

  5. We’ve loved your Freedom to Read week, and can’t agree more about parents reading with their children.

    We are excited about Proposition 2. We hope something like that happens here!

    5-October-2008 at 2:21 am

  6. Well said!!!!
    I agree 100 percent :)
    To quote Crosby,Stills,Nash & Young:’ Teach your children well’
    Purrs Mickey

    5-October-2008 at 2:54 am

  7. wlk

    look at all those beautyfull whiskers.

    oh yes, our maw loves her produce as well, mmmmmm.

    -wlk

    5-October-2008 at 3:38 am

  8. Please understand. Keeping inappropriate materials from children is legal and it’s common sense.

    Here, let me let a former ALA Council say it better:

    “It also highlights the thing we know about Banned Books Week that we don’t talk about much — the bulk of these books are challenged by parents for being age-inappropriate for children. While I think this is still a formidable thing for librarians to deal with, it’s totally different from people trying to block a book from being sold at all.”

    Nice pictures, by the way.

    5-October-2008 at 4:46 am

  9. Thx Dan for replying

    Here are more of my thoughts. If a child is reading what the parent deems ‘age-inappropriate books’ with them – the parents are able to guide their child through the books to help them understand. What it is ‘age-inappropriate’ can shift from neighborhood to neighborhood and sometimes for your home and your neighbor’s home.

    Children go through a lot of social and peer pressures we as adults are not aware of since they hid it so well. Sometimes the experiences described in an ‘age-inappropriate’ are exactly what is happening to them or someone they know. Informed knowledge is power. We need to teach them how to use their knowledge.

    If we pull ‘age-inappropriate’ books from libraries, what books will be left? Again I say – parents, guardians and adults need to be in the libraries with their children.

    It is not the responsibility of public librarians to monitor people’s children. They are there to educate the proper usage of libraries, respect for books and to expand peoples’ minds with reading opportunities. When children below 12 are in a library – they should be there with an adult. If a librarian suggest reading materials – the parent can determine if the book is right for their child. Over the age of 13, I say we as adults need to be more open to what interests the teen. Because if we don’t read, investigate and educate with them, they will go else where. We did.

    I still firmly believe that no book should ever be banner. There are a couple I wish had never been written because they are crap but education over banning. I’ve seen more violence, foul language and sexual suggestions in an hour of TV than I’ve read in most of the books banned or challenged last year.

    I’ll end with

    “All of us can think of a book… that we hope none of our children or any other children have taken off the shelf. But if I have the right to remove that book from the shelf – that work I abhor – then you also have exactly the same right and so does everyone else. And then we have no books left on the shelf for any of us.”— Katherine Paterson

    5-October-2008 at 1:15 pm

  10. I don’t like that Mr. Kleinman tries to tell me what’s appropriate for my family …

    On to dancing animals … ! Happy Animals means Healthy Humans. Yes on Prop. 2! Stop cruelty and support the local farms near you and in our family farmer-rich Central Valley!

    Can’t wait to vote. If only I could register Bogdan, too. He has opinions on how his chickens and deer are treated. That’s why we buy Instinct and Wellness.

    5-October-2008 at 2:51 pm

  11. I guess I’m in a bit of a bubble when it comes to books. I often spend time at City Lights or other book stores and seek out the most unusual or intriguing short-story collections I can find. The idea of banning books seems so foreign by comparison. Though I’m sure a lot of what I browse would be banned if some folks had the opportunity…

    5-October-2008 at 5:58 pm

  12. “The Morning Scratch” said, “I don’t like that Mr. Kleinman tries to tell me what’s appropriate for my family … ” First of all, thanks for being so polite.

    Second, I’m not telling you what’s appropriate. What I’m saying is that the ALA is telling you everything’s appropriate, and that is not what the US Supreme Court or the law or common sense says.

    Divakitty says, “Informed knowledge is power.” That’s right. When the ALA awards a book containing oral sex as the best book of the year for kids aged 12 and up and does not provide notice of such content, informed knowledge is impossible. The ALA claims parents are responsible for their own children on one hand while on the other hand those parents are left uninformed as to the contents of ALA awarded books. Do you think that is fair? When the ALA opposes a community’s attempt to remove a book containing bestiality from public school by claiming the parents are racist because the author is black, do you think that is fair?

    Informed knowledge is power. But purposefully keeping people uninformed is also power. SafeLibraries is the messenger reporting how the ALA keeps people uninformed by informing them with false and misleading information.

    19-October-2008 at 2:29 am

Leave a Reply

