oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

Again with the cooking?

Time for a nap!

Snoozing

DKM Nosh

Slow Cooking’ Three Bean Chili

Chili Chillin'

Easiest chili ever and quite tasty when topped with some cheddar and onions!

Olive oil
1 Sweet yellow onion, chopped
1/2 Red bell pepper, chopped
2 Cloves of garlic, minced
3T. Tomato paste
1T. Chili powder
1 Can crushed tomatoes
1 Can of black beans
1 Can of pinto beans
1 Can of kidney beans
1 1/2 c. Water
1t. Salt
1/4 t. Black pepper
Pinch of red pepper flakes (optional)

Saute onion, red pepper & garlic in th oil until soft then stir in tomato paste and chili powder until all mixed up and then dump into slower cooker.  Add in everything else, put on low for 6-8 hours and then enjoy.

Very very easy & tasty!

DK is groovin’ to Catherine Feeny

20 responses

  1. I can nap through anything. Of course I hate the food cooking clean up…

    5-September-2008 at 9:45 pm

  2. How you doin’? Waving at you from Australia.

    5-September-2008 at 10:55 pm

  3. Oh the soup the soup ….. yum ….

    5-September-2008 at 11:16 pm

  4. furrybutts

    Delicious chili!!

    5-September-2008 at 11:43 pm

  5. KC

    Mommie ML’s checking tha spices right now ta see if she’s good to go fur chili. Fanks, DKM!

    6-September-2008 at 12:23 am

  6. Yuuum, can you ship some out to Vienna? I am having breakfast right now but if you can be here by dinner it’d be great ;o))

    6-September-2008 at 1:35 am

  7. Our Beans love Chili, but once when I was little, I licked the plate and I hissed at it. I’ve never tried it since.
    Flynn

    6-September-2008 at 3:36 am

  8. That’s what I do when Mom cooks,Sophia.
    That chili sounds good. Sometimes Mom buys cans
    of 6 bean blend to use :)
    Mom loves chili. I think she can have it!
    Purrs Mickey

    6-September-2008 at 7:02 am

  9. I think that we have to go and cook some chili now…

    6-September-2008 at 7:36 am

  10. I don’t know which got my attention more – the beautiful sleeping kitty or the delicious looking chilli.

    6-September-2008 at 9:54 am

  11. As per the usual DKM, your cooking looks just delish! Can I join u Sophia?

    6-September-2008 at 10:23 am

  12. Mom thinks she will try that one. With the weather turning cooler it is getting to be chili weather! HAHA… chilly (chili) weather get it? I crack me up!
    Mom asks: How many servings does this make? -Slick

    6-September-2008 at 12:08 pm

  13. Yes!
    I love making chili.
    The husband is making tofu devon tonight … maybe I’ll make this chili tomorrow. (I usually only use two beans!! This will be fun!)

    Thanks, DKM. We love it when you share your recipes (even if Sophia thinks it’s boring). I should start posting our food. Ever read What the Hell Does a Vegan Eat Anyway?? http://veganmenu.blogspot.com/
    I bet you do.

    6-September-2008 at 1:22 pm

  14. Oh yes – I love her blog!

    6-September-2008 at 1:51 pm

  15. What a sweet picture of Sophia napping. The chili looks yummy.

    6-September-2008 at 2:31 pm

  16. DK seems to be spending a lot of time at the moment sprawled out in the sun, which is lovely to see…

    6-September-2008 at 2:32 pm

  17. I’m actually gonna TRY it! Thanks for posting the recipe! Looks great! I used to work at a place that did a chili feed for Halloween. Two ladies brought in their biggest crock pots, we dumped all sorts of stuf in and it was chili in a few hours! Always turned out great, I have no idea how….

    6-September-2008 at 9:11 pm

  18. Oh, that chili looks delicious and what a beautiful snuggle that Sophia is on!

    6-September-2008 at 11:45 pm

  19. Pingback: Weekend Cat Blogging #170 *updated* | Paulchens FoodBlog?!

  20. Thanks for joining us this weekend, we are sorry the round up is a little late this weekend. Momma was helping to finish the babyboy’s own room and got home quite late today!
    http://foodblog.paulchens.org/?p=1366

    7-September-2008 at 5:50 pm

Leave a Reply

