oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

Monday Bunday & DKM cooks

Banana Please!

Banana please...


DKM Cooks

Roasted Veggie Stock

If you are looking for a lighter veggie stock – Click here

What you need

Making Veggie Stock

Leek
Anise (Fennel bulb)
Onion
Carrot
Garlic
Mushroom
Zucchini
Red Bell Pepper
Parsley
Herbs and Spices
Sherry or other alcohol
Wee bit of olive oil

Making Veggie Stock

Chop all the veggies up, lightly coat with olive oil and roast at 450 degrees for 45-50 min. I roasted mine with fresh thyme tossed in as my herb, you can use anything you have in the fridge.

Making Veggie Stock

The hardest part of making this stock is not eating up all the veggies before you finish. Toss all of the veggies into your stock pot and with your sherry, de-glaze the bottom of the roasting dish – this is essential, you want all that good stuff stuck to the bottom of the pan.

Making Veggie Stock

Add 16 cups of water, your parsley and any other spices. At this point you could also add fresh or roasted tomatoes. I roast my tomatoes separate from my other veggie because they only take 15-20 minutes to roast. This go-round I had in the pot: bay leaf, crushed coriander seed, cumin seed, pink peppercorns and a few juniper berries. Again, use what ever you have in the kitchen that compliments the roasted veggies. I like coriander and cumin together as I like the citrus note with the anise flavor. Bring everything to a boil and then let simmer for 1-2 hours.

Note to Millie’s mum – here’s how big my stock pot is! Right now it has all the veggies, all the water and there is room for at least 20 more cups of water.

Making Veggie Stock

Once done, you want to strain over a cheese cloth into a new pot – I like to mush down the veggie with my ladle so I get out all the flavor! If you want to be sure your stock is crystal clear, you can use a chinois, I don’t bother – I’m not that picky.

The salting question – I do not salt my stock – I may add a pinch of salt and sugar if I’m sweating onions, but when cooking and reducing, I do not salt. My reason: I like to salt my soup, risotto or whatever as I’m cooking it. If cooking stock salted to taste, the salt can concentrate and make the stock too salty – that’s my two cents anyway.

Veggie Stock

When done, you will have 8-10 cups of liquid amber gold. Oh, homemade stock is soooooo much better than the store canned stuff.


Craftie

I’m working on something…

Meezer snuggle

44 responses

  1. ya don’t hafta cook the bananas ya know ;-0

    4-May-2008 at 6:59 pm

  2. Dearest DKM, Sophia and the Buns,

    Wow! My pet human used to have a recipe blog, but I took over. She starts drooling every time she sees a post on you blog like this one.

    She’s declaring war on me. She wants time to post food stuff. Would you be ok if she copied your idea and posted the yucky, boring food stuff (of course she wants to use my blog) She’s such a copy cat.

    Luv,
    Skittles, The Huntress

    4-May-2008 at 7:30 pm

  3. What a waste of those vegetables …..

    Kin I have banana too?

    4-May-2008 at 7:46 pm

  4. Now that could be good. My human was thinking the roasted vegetables looked good just like that.

    4-May-2008 at 8:45 pm

  5. Hm. I just eat the veggies as they are. Less trouble. And I’m with Lando– banana, please!

    4-May-2008 at 8:50 pm

  6. where’s the ‘naner? – Othello

    DKM – Momma sits here wif her morning cocoa and is drroling ’bout your soup!! She says she must try this veggie stock it looks so delish… and you are right about the hardest part of not eating the roasted veggies all up. *hehe*

    Fanks for sharing!
    mmmh this new project look real nice, it has our favourite colors!!

    4-May-2008 at 9:07 pm

  7. Did you get the banana? Mom was drolling over the rest of it.

    4-May-2008 at 10:46 pm

  8. Wow! I’d accept an invitation for dinner any time at your place! Pity I’m in the UK – and you’re ……. there!

    I’m intrigued by what you’re making?

    Guess: a gorgeous cover for gorgeous DK? :-)

    4-May-2008 at 11:46 pm

  9. Everything looks yummy – even da yarn! Whut could DKM be werkin’ on?

    4-May-2008 at 11:54 pm

  10. I hope Lando got his banana. The veggie stock looks delicious. Your craft looks very interesting. I love the colors.

    5-May-2008 at 12:34 am

  11. Very cute, Orlando! Did you get a banana?

    5-May-2008 at 1:24 am

  12. That stock looks yummy to Mommy. Me – I just want to play with whatever it is you are knitting!

    5-May-2008 at 1:39 am

  13. Mom is drooling over the fresh veggies and soup stock!

    5-May-2008 at 3:53 am

  14. What a cute bun!!!!! The PM stillls pines for one now and then. Your stocks sounds divine! I think the veggies would get eaten before the stock was made for sure though!

    5-May-2008 at 3:53 am

  15. What a cute bun!!!!! The PM stillls pines for one now and then. Your stocks sounds divine! I think the veggies would get eaten before the stock was made for sure though!

    5-May-2008 at 3:55 am

  16. Sweet bun and divine stock! Those veggies would not make it into the stock pot here I doubt. Tasty snack.

    5-May-2008 at 4:01 am

  17. Mom said We’ll swap you some apples for some soup stock!
    Oh well, she thought she’d give it a try anyway :)

    ~ The Boyz

    5-May-2008 at 4:21 am

  18. Monty

    MomBean made banana bread and used all of the bananas. :(

    5-May-2008 at 4:34 am

  19. a banana sounds like a good thing for you, Orlando. I hope you got one.
    What great photos, very inspiring!

    5-May-2008 at 5:34 am

  20. what do you do with the veggies after?

    5-May-2008 at 8:13 am

  21. Mom thinks those veggies look soooo good.

    Mindy & Moe

    5-May-2008 at 8:25 am

  22. Mmmmmm, bananas. They are a favorite with our buns as well.

    5-May-2008 at 8:38 am

  23. Well maybe my Meowmy can kick up her cooking skills and attempt such a feat! She does have a ginormous stock pot so that seems like the right direction!!

    5-May-2008 at 9:41 am

  24. fivecats

    Nice craftie … a meezer snuggle.

    5-May-2008 at 9:52 am

  25. Thanks for sharing the recipe for the veggie stock…I do vegetable broth and soups all the time, but never thought of doing a stock and not salting it. I shall try it out next Friday, when I get my veggie scheme box delivered :)

    What is the new project? I peeked at Ravelry, but could not see it there…must be secret…

    Off now to give Hugo and Eve a bit of banana…they caught wind of Orlando’s request and want a slice too (plus, it’s time for Eve’s antibiotic shot…)

    5-May-2008 at 9:57 am

  26. Pixie said she will share her bananer with you.

    5-May-2008 at 10:02 am

  27. Oooo – our Mommy loves it when DKM cooks!

    Also, we can’t wait to see what wonderful, crafty item you are working on :)

    5-May-2008 at 10:40 am

  28. Yeah,Mom says it would be hard to pot those veggies in the stock pot!!!! She has seen those giant pots too :) She says it can hold all 3 of us cats! We call it a lobster pot!! It needs to be big!!!
    She did not buy it though.

    Are you peeling that nanner?
    Purrs Mickey

    5-May-2008 at 12:56 pm

  29. That stock looks delicious. Mom agrees with you about home made stock, even though mom is not anywhere the cook auntie is.

    Roxy

    PS: Give them a banana, okay?

    5-May-2008 at 1:54 pm

  30. oh nom nom nom mommy sayz. it is funny you said the hard part is not eating the veggies before you cook them and mommy said that just before she read it!
    Thanks for the nummy recipie!

    PS did you get your bananna

    5-May-2008 at 3:29 pm

  31. Mmmmm. Momma was sayin Yummy Yummy Yummy about them pickshures! And Happy Monday Bunday! You’re a furry cute bun!

    Kittyhugs and purrs from MaoMao!

    5-May-2008 at 3:48 pm

  32. the roasted veggies look so good!
    Great post!
    :)

    5-May-2008 at 3:49 pm

  33. Happy Monday Bunday! And Mom is drooling over your food pictures!

    Purrs and snuggles from Marilyn.

    5-May-2008 at 4:18 pm

  34. Wow, that looks delicious! We love the picture of you!

    5-May-2008 at 4:43 pm

  35. Furst mom wanted a banana, den she saw da craftie and den she wanted mint chocolate chip ice cream!

    5-May-2008 at 5:05 pm

  36. Mmmm, yum. I think I’d probably wanna eat all the veggies too, heehee.

    Love the colors of whatever it is you’re working on!

    6-May-2008 at 5:51 am

  37. Oh, and Orlando…You, my dear, are absolutely adorable{period} :P

    6-May-2008 at 5:53 am

  38. Ooh, nanoos!!! Yes pweeze, nanoos?! How come for you cooked up perfectly good raw veggertayboos?
    -Shammy

    Nevermind him! I think your veggie stock looks fab! Love the yarn, too… I want pics of the finished bits!
    -C

    6-May-2008 at 11:45 am

  39. The bunny is soooo adorable! Oh, and you’re cooking looks yummy!

    10-May-2008 at 4:37 pm

  40. Pingback: Easy Like Sunday Morning & DKM Nosh « Diva Kitty & The Fluffies

  41. Pingback: Monday Bunday - Challenge Answered! « Diva Kitty & The Fluffies

  42. LOVE the bunny pic!! Too cute.

    29-September-2008 at 1:36 am

  43. Pingback: Weekend Herb Blogging: 3 Years! YAY! Veggie soup with herb-y soup crepes | Paulchens FoodBlog?!

  44. Pingback: Paulchens FoodBlog?! » Blog Archive » [The Secret Recipe Club] – (Beef) Vegetable Soup

Leave a Reply

