oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

Monday Bunday

What… I do not have a kale problem!

What... I do not have a kale problem!

More Monday Bunday at


Celebrate Poetry Month


Zen Living
by Dick Allen

Birdsongs that sound like the steady determined tapping
of a shoemaker’s hammer,
or of a sculptor making tiny ball-peen dents in a silver plate,
wake me this morning. Is it possible the world itself can be happy? – The calico cat
stretches her long body out across the top of my computer monitor,
yawning, its little primitive head a cave of possibility.
And I’m ready again
to try and see accidents, the over and over patterns
of double-slit experiments a billionfold
repeated before me. If I had great patience,
I could try to count the poplar, birch and oak
leaves in their shifting welter outside my bedroom window
or the almost infinitesimal trails of thought that flash and flash
everywhere, as if decaying particles inside a bubble chamber,
windshield raindrops, lake ripples. However,
instead I go to fry some bacon, crack two eggs
into the cast-iron skillet that’s even older than this house,
and on the calendar (each month another oriental fan
where the climbing solitary is dwarfed . . . or on dark blue oceans
minuscular fishing boats bob beneath gigantic waves)
X out the days, including those I’ve forgotten.

28 responses

  1. That’s a lovely poem..it’s dweamy!

    I don’t think you have a kale pwoblem eithew..
    smoochie kisses
    Asta
    pee ess. did you see the cat sanctooawy in Wome??

    20-April-2008 at 7:44 pm

  2. Denial is an important skill to have as a bunny! And as a cat!

    Luv,
    Skittles, The Huntress

    20-April-2008 at 8:14 pm

  3. Of course you don’t.

    20-April-2008 at 8:32 pm

  4. The only problem is when there’s not enough of it!

    20-April-2008 at 8:33 pm

  5. You can have all da kale you want!

    P.S. – DKM always pick good music!

    20-April-2008 at 9:54 pm

  6. I agree with Tidbit!

    21-April-2008 at 1:54 am

  7. You are a cute bun, Fiona!

    21-April-2008 at 2:23 am

  8. This is a lovely poem! And a lovely photo! :)

    21-April-2008 at 4:35 am

  9. Monty

    Kale’s all yours!

    21-April-2008 at 4:43 am

  10. Fiona and I have the same bun taste buds! Kale and cords = delish!

    Andrewbun

    21-April-2008 at 6:54 am

  11. “I don’t have a kale problem. I eat kale. I get full. No problem.”

    21-April-2008 at 7:47 am

  12. tell it like it is Fi!

    21-April-2008 at 8:22 am

  13. If loving kale is wrong, you don’t want to be right!

    21-April-2008 at 9:19 am

  14. Nope, yoo don’t haf a kale problem…you haf kale so der is no problem!

    21-April-2008 at 9:40 am

  15. fivecats

    You don’t have a kale problem, but probably a flashy box problem while you’re trying to eat. :)

    21-April-2008 at 10:43 am

  16. You look a little indignant there…

    21-April-2008 at 11:47 am

  17. Thanks for letting me know I am part bun!! I’m super excited. I’ve been practicing my binkies!! The eating veggies bit is a bit hard but I’m trying.

    Oh, and the LL says thanks for the gluten free link! She loves Shauna and owns her book and checks her blog like every day! Aside from cat blogging she’s a confirmed gluten-free-recipe-obsessed-blog-lurker.

    21-April-2008 at 11:59 am

  18. Captain Jack & Dante

    Of course you do not!!

    21-April-2008 at 12:20 pm

  19. Of course you don’t have a Kale problem, what nonsense. Mom says she hasn’t seen Kinky Boots, but will check it out. Is it good like Keeping Mum? We liked that and watched it with Mom.

    21-April-2008 at 1:33 pm

  20. Very skillful redirection, Fiona! Before anyone could even begin to suss out why Kale could possibly be a problem for a bun, there follows that very good poem!

    21-April-2008 at 2:12 pm

  21. Mom and Auntie were smiling, in the other photos. hahahaha

    Roxy

    21-April-2008 at 3:48 pm

  22. Bunnies don’t have problems anyway, of any sort. Issues maybe, but not problems. And, those are usually involving 2-foots.

    21-April-2008 at 4:12 pm

  23. I found you!!!!! Yeah!!!!!!!! I liked your poem, do you write any poems? I need you to e mail me when you have a minute it is about the auditions. Thanks.

    21-April-2008 at 4:30 pm

  24. Mom says Mr Big never said, “Say Cheese”

    Got package?

    21-April-2008 at 6:24 pm

  25. You look like you are really enjoying that kale!

    Tara

    21-April-2008 at 8:45 pm

  26. Kale is a problem only when your mum doesn’t give you enough for both, like in our case…she says it is more a treat and we shouldn’t be eating it by the bucketful… I don’t know what that means, because I’ve never seen a bucket full of kale, but on Country Life, which is a TV program on BBC1, I saw a man with a very tall kale tree and was saying his kale is organic and the best. Hmmm… that made us really hungry!!

    22-April-2008 at 12:34 am

  27. If we need to do a kale intervention, I’ll be glad to take the kale to my house so you won’t be tempted!

    Great poem!

    22-April-2008 at 4:37 am

  28. Monty

    …actually Mombean made kale last night with some dried cranberries and almonds. I think you put one of those subliminal messages in her head!

    (or she had to use up the rest of the heoouge bag of kale in the fridge…)

    22-April-2008 at 6:11 am

Leave a Reply

