oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

Book Meme

Paws out

I was tagged again for the book meme so this is what I’m reading now – Cat & Mouse by James Patterson

Here are the rules:

1. Pick up the nearest book.
2. Open to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.

That had been part of Gary’s careful facade. It was the perfect hiding place: a sweet little house on Central Avenue, with a white picket fence and a stone walkway bisecting the front lawn. “So what do you figure is going on with Soneji?”

Sophia tags Fiona Bun, Orlando and DKM since everyone else has been tagged.

DKM

Lightly coat your fingertips with flour and shape teaspoons of the mixture into flat circles. To make the minted cream sauce, slice the spring onion, melt the butter in a frying pan, add the garlic and spring onion and cook over medium heat for three minutes or until the garlic is soft and golden. Add the cream, bring to the boil then reduce the heat and simmer for three minutes, or until the cream has thickened slightly.

To see what this is, you will need to come back later.

I smell 'nanas on you
Fiona Bun

They forget all kinds of stuff, whittle stuff away, and there’s nothing you can do about that – they’re bound to do it. I guess it’s because there are so many things for us to do, but still…” “I think I see what you mean,” I said.

Goodbye Tsugumi by Banana Yoshimoto

Chillin' with DKM
Orlando Bun

One way to have seniors and others know your expertise and contribution to the company is to promote yourself with integrity. Letting people know about ideas you initiate or results you achieve is neither conceited nor crass. You’re not showboating-you’re showcasing.

Survival of the Savvy by Rick Brandon and Marty Seldman. What? I live in a house with three women, I need some survival skills!


Celebrate Poetry Month


Dear Mr. Merrill,
by Moira Egan

I hope you’ll pardon the informality
of this letter, postmarked Olympia
(Greece, not Washington), its task not simple:
crossing lines you’ve crossed, time, mortality,
to find you, who spent a lifetime crossing lines
out, twisting, polishing them to shine

cool and lustrous as the statue I fell in
love with yesterday. I’m sure you saw him
too, that perfect Hermes by Praxitelis,
full lips, hips contrapposto. I wished to draw him
down, latter-day Pygmalion, and embrace
him. Or barring Eros (and the guards) I’d trace

his face, the supple muscle of the marble.
I had a student who resembled him—
yes, Angelos—arrogant and beautiful.
I never touched him though he touches me in dreams.
Eros dangles his perfection in our faces
like one-armed Hermes with his promise of the grapes.

I was certain I’d dream of him last night.
Instead I dreamed another in the growing chain
of others with whom it ended not quite
right. But the thirst was perfect, if its price pain
and shattered crystal, spilling wine, all part
and parcel of our imperfect lives. Then Art

startles out of heartache, marble or page.
You learned this long ago. Now I too see
the wildest things require the strongest cages,
the panther’s double bars, or the seeds,
bloodysweet and bitter, in the pomegranate’s
rind. Love held tight in a sonnet.

11 responses

  1. Hmmmm . . . this time da closest book to us is “Guess How Much I Love You” – Kiera’s book. There are only 28 pages. Guess we can’t play this time!

    18-April-2008 at 8:36 pm

  2. Our mum sez DKM’s sounds inchresting. She likes anyfing that’s got cream in it.

    19-April-2008 at 1:51 am

  3. Cream…MMmmmmmmmmmmmm!

    19-April-2008 at 3:14 am

  4. Those were good book memes :)
    My ears perked up at the mention of cream! We will have to come back and see the result!
    Orlando, I hear ya,I’m the only guy here too!!
    Purrs Mickey

    19-April-2008 at 5:08 am

  5. Cool Book meme! We have to get ours finished! Have a wonderful day and we got our squiggles!! Thank you. Mr. Tigger has hoarded them all as usual.
    Your FL furiends,

    19-April-2008 at 6:30 am

  6. Would I like something with mint sauce in it? My mom was goin’ “MMmmmmm”, but I just don’t know.

    19-April-2008 at 8:53 am

  7. How great to have good books and some jazz in the morning (that’s what is currently playing on your site). All you need is a little coffee (or kitty kaviar) to make it complete :)

    19-April-2008 at 9:36 am

  8. great book lando – i remember when Bilbo lived here he got into mum’s books … but i don’t think he was reading them…
    http://archisantics.blogspot.com/2006/10/oswald-chambers.html

    19-April-2008 at 4:30 pm

  9. Lando Rocks!!!

    19-April-2008 at 5:29 pm

  10. Mom says that books sounds very intriguing! (She likes books like that.)

    19-April-2008 at 7:51 pm

  11. Very interesting, hehee! Emma has also been tagged for this meme. I will have to get her….ahem, my butt in gear and complete it!

    LOVE James Patterson, btw! Have a ton of his books!

    19-April-2008 at 8:36 pm

Leave a Reply

