oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

Movie Meme

This time we’re looking for H-K. Good luck all – please do not to google…

1. “You might well think that. I couldn’t possibly comment.” House of Cards ~Karen Jo
2. “Art does *not* apologize!” Impromptu ~Parker
3. “Pay strict attention to what I say because I choose my words carefully and I never repeat myself.”
4. “Is that really what my hair looks like from the back?” Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban ~Chance
5.
“He’s my horse. ‘Es called Tir Na Nog. It means ‘the land of eternal youth'”
6. “The day is yours.”
Henry V ~Madness & the two B’s
7. “Your ego is absolutely colossal.” It Happened One Night ~Ghost
8.
“Let me try and clarify some of this for you. Best Company Supermarkets are not interested in selling wholesome foods. They are not worried about the nation’s health. What is concerning them, is that the nation appears to be getting worried about its health, and that is what’s worrying Best Co., because Best Co. wants to go on selling them what it always has, i.e. white breads, baked beans, canned foods, and that suppurating, fat squirting little heart attack traditionally known as the British sausage.”
9. “You can’t just go ’round killing people just because you don’t approve of them!” Keeping Mum ~Zippy
10. “The next time I write in this diary, Mother will be dead. How odd… yet how pleasing.” Heavenly Creatures ~Carrie
11. “The wind whispers of fear and hate. The war has killed love. And those that confess to the Angka are punished, and no one dare ask where they go. Here, only the silent survive.” The Killing Fields ~Zippy
12.
“The nicest thing about feeling happy is that you think you’ll never be unhappy again.”
13. “Burgundy. Please, God, tell me I have not inspired something burgundy. Red. Red. *Red*. *Red*, Charlie boy. *Red*! Is the color of sex! Burgundy is the color of hot water bottles! Red is the color of sex and fear and danger and signs that say, Do. Not. Enter. All my favorite things in life.” (I love, love, love this movie!) Kinky Boots ~Zippy and if you’ve not seen the movie and you like quirky films… you need to watch this one.
Here’s a link to the trailer.


Celebrate Poetry Month 

 


We’re going to do another game with our poem today. Tell me what movie this poem was used in and I’ll send you some squiggles. 

 

Sense and Sensibility ~Chance
SONNET 116
Shakespeare
Let me not to the marriage of true minds
Admit impediments. Love is not love
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove:
O no! it is an ever-fixed mark
That looks on tempests and is never shaken;
It is the star to every wandering bark,
Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.
Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
Within his bending sickle’s compass come:
Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
But bears it out even to the edge of doom.
If this be error and upon me proved,
I never writ, nor no man ever loved.

Whiskers of tolerance

Yawn… Whatever

27 responses

  1. i am no good at these :( but they all sound cool – can’t wait to hear what they are! Isn’t #9 from Cinnamon’s blog or book or maybe both?!!!

    16-April-2008 at 7:16 pm

  2. Mom says she humbly bows to your greatness at movie quotes. Of course, it might help if mom had seen an adult movie in the last few years, but I think the last one she saw was the new James Bond, and that was on Comcast at home one Saturday night. Not saying it’s an excuse mind you, just saying/

    Roxy

    16-April-2008 at 7:39 pm

  3. I’m with Roxy. Mom was just thinking that she loves movies and these totally have her stumped. The only one that she thinks MIGHT be even close is #4, is it The Eyes of Laura Mars? But she really doesn’t think so.

    And she can’t wait to find out what #13 is.

    And I love my snuggle!

    16-April-2008 at 7:42 pm

  4. #10 — Heavenly Creatures?

    16-April-2008 at 7:44 pm

  5. Wow those are hard. I need to go watch some movies.

    16-April-2008 at 7:46 pm

  6. Mom forgot the H-K part. Sheesh!

    16-April-2008 at 7:46 pm

  7. #7 Claudette Colbert in It Happened One Night?

    16-April-2008 at 8:26 pm

  8. We dun understand poems and dunno why humans are into poems. We thinks catnip is the best…

    purrs,
    Spice Cats

    17-April-2008 at 12:22 am

  9. Lots of cool quotes, but we’re afraid we can’t identify any of them!

    17-April-2008 at 2:12 am

  10. #2 is Impromptu – it’s one of Mommy’s favs!!!

    17-April-2008 at 2:49 am

  11. Monty

    Uh.

    17-April-2008 at 5:35 am

  12. #4 is Hermione from Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Is it sad that Mommie only ever knows the Harry Potter ones?)

    17-April-2008 at 6:17 am

  13. Oh and the poem is from Sense and Sensibility. That is one of Mommies favourite movies of all time.

    17-April-2008 at 6:18 am

  14. #1 Um, mom sez dat quote is from Hogfather, but dad sed no…they just ran dat movie last Sunday and mom still swears that’s where it’s from!
    #4 Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, dis one was easy
    #9 Keeping Mum
    #11 The Killing Fields
    #13 Kinky Boots – mom is surprised that anyone else even saw this movie!

    We think mom is haffing an off day, dis is all she gots and we aren’t sure dat any of dem is even right.

    17-April-2008 at 7:51 am

  15. I had a couple of guesses in mind, but Googled to be sure and sure enough, I was wrong. (They were #3 “My Fair Lady” and #8 “Oh God!”)

    Sophia, you look so insouciante!

    17-April-2008 at 7:57 am

  16. It’s not the Hogfather… it’s a British TV movie. There were actually three in the series and I’ll take any of the three since the quote is featuerd in all three of them.

    17-April-2008 at 8:36 am

  17. Wild guess- is #5 from Hidalgo? I should ask Snap; she’d know.

    17-April-2008 at 9:07 am

  18. Nope – sorry Victor. But it is an Irish flick – that’s your clue.

    17-April-2008 at 9:20 am

  19. I think #6 is from Henry V.

    17-April-2008 at 12:33 pm

  20. “Is it ‘tempests’? I do believe it is ‘tempests’.

    Sense and Sensibility! Otherwise known as The Movie That Lives in the DVD Player!

    Binks to all!

    17-April-2008 at 1:04 pm

  21. Ohhhhh… I just love that sonnet by Shakespeare! :) It makes both Mom and I swoon.

    Purrs and snuggles from Marilyn.

    17-April-2008 at 2:27 pm

  22. Hi Sophia. Thought I would stop by and see how you are doing. Looks like you are kind of bored. Mom wouldn’t have gotten any of these movies as she hasn’t watched a movie in a long time. I do know her two favorite movies were “Gone with the Wind” and ” Donovans Reef.” She loves the music in Donovan’s reef. Looks like the buns and you had a nice lazy Sunday. Love them kind of Sundays.

    Casper

    17-April-2008 at 3:24 pm

  23. Sophia: I agree with you – yawn!

    My humans don’t watch many movies. …

    When is DKM going somewhere again? I sure like those games….

    -Bogdan

    17-April-2008 at 5:36 pm

  24. I have no idea about the movie meme. I enjoyed the sonnet.

    17-April-2008 at 6:19 pm

  25. Looks like fun,but we do not watch enough movies to know any answers.
    Hi Sophia :) You look nice in the sunshine .
    Purrs Mickey

    17-April-2008 at 6:39 pm

  26. Like DK says … whatever … yawn ….

    17-April-2008 at 6:46 pm

  27. I think I actually know one. #1 is from House of Cards.

    17-April-2008 at 11:08 pm

Leave a Reply

