oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

Thursday Thirteen – Movie Quiz

Ok – I love movies too much to pick just 13. So here are the first 13 and a clue they are A-C. Leave your guesses in the comments – no cheating by searching google!

Zippy and Mum are on a roll!  I’ve added some hints

1. “To be on the wire is life. The rest is waiting.” All that Jazz ~Zippy

2. “Will no one rid me of this meddlesome priest?” Becket ~Kate

3. “Well, actually, Janine is Senior Drive-thru Manager so you are on her turf.” American Beauty ~Erin

4. “The thing is, a person’s life is like a TV show. I was the star of The Will Show. And The Will Show wasn’t an ensemble drama.” About a Boy ~Zippy

5. “Don’t tug on that, you never know what it might be attached to.”  The Adventures of Buckaroo Bonzai ~Zippy

6. “What are you doing? Memorizing me by heart?”  A Little Princess ~KC

7. “Three dimes, a hundred dollar bill and 87 ones.” Big ~Ghost

8. “Do you no good to go poking around under rocks, Justin. Some very nasty things live under rocks, especially in foreign gardens”  Directed by the same person who directed #10… he is from South America

9. “Aww. The bounce has gone from his bungee.”  Wallace and Grommet, Curse of the Ware Rabbit ~Zippy

10. “It was like a message from God: “Honesty doesn’t pay, sucker.” See #8

11. “Welcome back Jack, to the house of addiction.”  Stars someone who almost was the new James Bond

12. “My life’s work has been to prompt others and be forgotten.” Cyrano DeBugerac ~Zippy

13. “Ah, good morning. Can I interest you in some nipples of Venus?”  Chocolat ~Zippy

I’ll have more next week – good luck!

Sunning

DK – I could, of course, care less
 


Celebrate Poetry Month


If You Forget Me

I want you to know
one thing.
You know how this is:
if I look
at the crystal moon, at the red branch
of the slow autumn at my window,
if I touch
near the fire
the impalpable ash
or the wrinkled body of the log,
everything carries me to you,
as if everything that exists,
aromas, light, metals,
were little boats
that sail
toward those isles of yours that wait for me.
Well, now,
if little by little you stop loving me
I shall stop loving you little by little.
If suddenly
you forget me
do not look for me,
for I shall already have forgotten you.

If you think it long and mad,
the wind of banners
that passes through my life,
and you decide
to leave me at the shore
of the heart where I have roots,
remember
that on that day,
at that hour,
I shall lift my arms
and my roots will set off
to seek another land.

But
if each day,
each hour,
you feel that you are destined for me
with implacable sweetness,
if each day a flower
climbs up to your lips to seek me,
ah my love, ah my own,
in me all that fire is repeated,
in me nothing is extinguished or forgotten,
my love feeds on your love, beloved,
and as long as you live it will be in your arms
without leaving mine.

Pablo Neruda

27 responses

  1. phabmissus

    Shit. I can’t even answer one question

    2-April-2008 at 8:13 pm

  2. Mom helped me with #7 – it is from Big

    2-April-2008 at 8:27 pm

  3. KC

    i can’t fink of even one answer either. But i likes tha pickshure of DK.
    Purrs, KC

    2-April-2008 at 8:46 pm

  4. I watch a movie and then I forget, lol ! Of course some stories remain, but not more.

    2-April-2008 at 8:57 pm

  5. Those are great quotes! Our mom says #2 is very familiar, but she can’t quite remember the name of the movie!

    2-April-2008 at 11:13 pm

  6. Great quotes!!!!
    I like #12!!

    2-April-2008 at 11:26 pm

  7. I could only get about half them. FAZ

    2-April-2008 at 11:57 pm

  8. # 13 is from Amadeus!

    The rest has Mom stumped. And thank you for playing!

    3-April-2008 at 3:10 am

  9. Monty

    To quote Jeter Harris…duhr.

    3-April-2008 at 5:07 am

  10. I think #3 is from American Beauty.

    3-April-2008 at 5:21 am

  11. Momma isn’t furry good with stuff like this…she is so forgetful…

    we loved the poetry…and Sophia you looked absolutely stunning in those beautiful sunbeams.

    3-April-2008 at 6:10 am

  12. Oh dear, I can’t even begin to figure those out!
    I’ll will just stare at the picture of my dreamy Sophia. -Scooby
    Pee Ess, Scout here Sophia. About your comment about coming to my island with Scooby…..We do not get along very well, he regards me as a pest, so it’s best if he keeps his distance!!

    3-April-2008 at 7:18 am

  13. A big 0-for-13 here. But it’s still worth it to come here and see Sophia soaking up the sun’s rays.

    3-April-2008 at 7:42 am

  14. #9 A Close Shave, Wallace & Grommit

    Mom knew Big and Amadeus, #7 & 13

    She is so glad she knew a few, now she doesn’t feel totally stupid.

    Roxy

    3-April-2008 at 7:52 am

  15. Wow, DKM, your quotes are hard! Mommy helped me with mine, and they are all easy.

    3-April-2008 at 8:43 am

  16. #9 is a Wallace & Grommit… but not the close shave
    #13 is not Amadeus

    Have fun! I’ll put some clues up later. Here is one clue. DKM likes films from all types of countries… not just the US.

    3-April-2008 at 8:48 am

  17. We watch lots and lots of movies, but we can NEVER figure any of these out. Darn it!

    3-April-2008 at 9:30 am

  18. Those are tough …
    –Jasper

    3-April-2008 at 9:44 am

  19. Dang – a bunch of them sound familiar, but Mommy’s brain isn’t working! We’ll come back to see the answers.

    3-April-2008 at 9:52 am

  20. All I knew was Amadeus :(

    3-April-2008 at 10:04 am

  21. I guess I’m not very good at movies. Maybe that’s because I never watch any. ;-)

    3-April-2008 at 11:18 am

  22. #2 is Becket with Peter O’Toole and Richard Burton, one of my favorite movies. It was quoted lots recently when the current Archbishop of Canterbury made some controversial remarks.

    3-April-2008 at 11:31 am

  23. #1-All that Jazz
    #2-Um, mom knows dis is from King Henry II – but she can’t remember da movie…she knows Peter O’toole was in it….
    #3-We see someone answered dat, mom neffur saw American Beauty so she wouldn’t haf known!
    #4-About a Boy, mom loves some of the lines from this movie…like “no, your not a bad mother, yoor a barking lunatic”…just like her mom!
    #5-The Adventures of Buckaroo Bonzai, one of mom’s favorite movies. Her most favorite saying comes from there “no matter where you go, there you are” hehehe
    #6-Um, she doesn’t know this one…
    #7-Has already been answered, but she wouldn’t haf known this one either. Ghost wasn’t one of her favorites!
    #8-Dis is another one she doesn’t know…she better start watching more movies!
    #9-Wallace and Grommet, Curse of the Ware Rabbit. She just watched dis one…again!
    #10, 11-Not a clue
    #12-Cyrano DeBugerac, commonly called Roxanne! Poor guy, da other guy won the gerl wif his words…
    #13-Hah, it’s from “Chocolat” Dad amembered dis line cuz he thawt it was furry funny. Mom sez she thinks when dey rented it the title was americanized to “The Temperature of Chocolate” or something like dat.

    3-April-2008 at 11:45 am

  24. Momma is droolin ofur that beeyootiful Pablo Neruda poem! she loves loves loves his poetry.

    Kittyhugs and purrs from MaoMao!

    3-April-2008 at 1:15 pm

  25. Gosh, I don’t know none of them! Gimme Monty Python, The Princess Bride, or Finding Nemo! Gimme Shrek or Harry Potter! Hmmm. I fink my moofie experiences haf been influenced by the boy! :-)

    4-April-2008 at 7:26 am

  26. Oh, but we gots Curse of the Ware Rabbit an knowed that one.

    4-April-2008 at 7:27 am

  27. KC

    My mommy finks she knows #6… it’s A Little Princess or The Little Princess… an tha little girl was saying goodbye to hers Daddy an hims asked if she was tryin to memorize him by heart. Hee hee, it only took hers a few days to get one answer!
    Purrs, KC

    4-April-2008 at 3:54 pm

Leave a Reply

