oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

Making a Squiggle

Step #1: Gather some yarn, a crochet hook & scissors

DSCN1115

Step #2: Make a slip knot and crochet a long chain

DSCN1116

Step #3: Double crochet three stitches in the third chain from the hook (yes, technically, that makes 4 in one, but it gives the squiggle a nose)

DSCN1119

Step #4: Double crochet three stitches in each chain until you are about 1/4 – 1/3 of the way down the chain… or you run out of yarn.

DSCN1120

Step #5: The yarn will curl on it’s own. Tie off & knot at the end.

DSCN1121

Step #6: Tighten the curls & your squiggle is done. You can weave in the end rather than snipping if you wish, squiggles don’t last long enough in this house for me to weave the ends.

DSCN1122

Step #7: Make a squillion squiggles for all your pals.

Squiggles

Step #8: Drop one on a test subject.

DSCN1161

Step #9: Torment the test subject until it starts to pounce the squiggle.

Must. Kill. Squiggle Worm.

Step #10: Keep your fingers out of harms way!

Must. Kill. Squiggle Worm.

Step #11: Pounce them. Pounce them hard – they are made to be shredded

2287670820_3f1048fcba.jpg

Step #12:You can make a human-sized one, DKM calls this a scarf.

DSCN0249

Step #13: After the squiggle is ripped to pieces… repeat step one!

DSCN1115

21 responses

  1. I love squiggles!

    13-March-2008 at 10:57 am

  2. I LOVE SQUIGGLES. In fact I was just playing this morning. Latte loves them too ’cause they’re soft and don’t hurt his face when they hit him.

    13-March-2008 at 11:09 am

  3. Oh that does look like fun!

    13-March-2008 at 12:04 pm

  4. Oh, thanks for the instructions! I have a ton of yarn, and the cats love them (Beezer sent Precious two for Valentine’s Day) I was trying to figure out how to make them.

    Calico Mom Toni

    13-March-2008 at 12:08 pm

  5. I would love to try this. I just need the step-by-steps like I’m a 4 year old *lol* Fromn start of knot.cast on to the next step and so on. I’m a visual/hands on learner :OP
    Thanks for sharing!
    ~W~

    13-March-2008 at 12:20 pm

  6. The Woman’s mother used to make squiggles, except they called them bookmarks and were not to be played with by cats…

    13-March-2008 at 12:27 pm

  7. Pretty yarn for a pretty cat.

    13-March-2008 at 2:35 pm

  8. Oh THANK YOU for dat interesting lesson on how to make squiggles. Dat’s furry nice of yoo.

    13-March-2008 at 3:22 pm

  9. I <3 Squiggles! But Mom’s lost by step 2. Her gramma failed to teach her to crow-shay. :-(

    13-March-2008 at 4:10 pm

  10. I want one, I want one!!!!!!!!! But I don’t have PayPal to make a donation.

    If you give me an address to send a donation, I will put it in the mail asap!

    Email me at SkittlestheHuntress@gmail.com

    Luv,

    Skittles

    13-March-2008 at 6:18 pm

  11. Yes … very nice. But. I too was crow-shayed deprived as a youngster and can’t get beyond step 1.! So, now, all our bunns are also deprived!

    13-March-2008 at 7:05 pm

  12. Those are very pretty and colorful. I bet my cousin Millie would have a ball with them.

    Roxy

    13-March-2008 at 7:09 pm

  13. great post DKM! what fun! i’ll have to make those for my friend’s cat sometime

    13-March-2008 at 7:31 pm

  14. ML

    I have always wanted to crochet. I am going to try this, it looks like so much fun. And the instructions are so well done. The cats won’t care if they are not as pretty as yours.
    Ohhh, now to pick out a pretty color (or colors!) of yarn. Wheee.

    14-March-2008 at 1:29 am

  15. “Oh, man…those instructions are great. Now if we just had a Mommy who could follow them. She has tried in the past….just hopeless, simply hopeless. That is why we have to depend on you for squiggles!”

    Deb: “Hey….well, heck…they are right! I’m hopeless at anything to do with yarn!”

    Taylor CatSSSSS: “TOLD YOU!”

    14-March-2008 at 2:35 am

  16. Ooooo, fanks fur da instructyuns on hows ta mayk Squiggles. My GrandmaBean lyks ta crochet lotsa stuffs soes Iz gonne tells her how ta mayk dese fur me. Dey luk lyk lotsa funs ta pway wit.

    14-March-2008 at 5:41 am

  17. You make it look so easy – I will try!

    14-March-2008 at 8:30 am

  18. Thank you for the instructions, DKM. Momma can’t get past step 1, though. hee hee

    Sophia, you are so lucky to live in a house full of SQUIGGLES. They are awesome!

    14-March-2008 at 11:10 am

  19. looks like much fun was had in the testing!

    17-March-2008 at 2:47 am

  20. This crochet toy is fantastic and funny!

    21-March-2008 at 4:54 am

  21. Paco

    Never done a squiggle, thanks for this easy tutorial! I’ll have to substitute a chihuahua for the cat so we’ll see how that works out…

    8-November-2013 at 1:31 pm

Leave a Reply

