oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

Easy Like Sunday Morning

Oh yea…

Oh yea...  fire

It’s good to be the queen!

It's good to be the queen

DKM was hanging out here yesterday…

Bodega Bay as the sun begins to set

The sounds of waves crashing Bodega Bay for those stuck in piles of snow.

Meme from Lady Luck

The rules are:

1. Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pages).
2. Open the book to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people.

I’m actually reading again one of my all time favorite books, The Grass is Singing by Doris Lessing.

“She hated the place, which she had never entered before, “Filthy Savages!” she thought vindictively.  She looked straight into the reddened, beer-clouded eyes of the headman, and repeated.”

So we’ll invite the following to try the meme: Jessica, Wormie, Millie’s Mum, Brandi and Slick’s Mum.

30 responses

  1. Sophia
    That beach is gowgeous!!! and you look so comfy in fwontof the fiwe..
    Lando bun said if I can play Binkie he’ll come play with me…I’ll leawn wight away Lando
    smoochie kisses
    Asta

    1-March-2008 at 9:31 pm

  2. I love your fire place. What a great place to snooze on Sunday!

    1-March-2008 at 9:44 pm

  3. You look so comfy, in front of the fireplace! And Momma loves Doris Lessing’s work. :)

    Purrs and snuggles from Marilyn!

    1-March-2008 at 10:39 pm

  4. Good thing you didn’t tag us, cuz it would be pretty boring – like this:

    Row 3 *K2, p6; rep from *, end k2.
    Row 4 *P2, 6-st LC; rep from *, end p2.
    Row 5 *K2, p6; rep from *, end k12.

    Can you tell what kinda book it wuz – LOL!

    P.S. – Yer momma wuz that close to us and didn’t call? Pffft!

    1-March-2008 at 10:44 pm

  5. The sea is quite noisy but it sounds like holidays to me ! and you found the right place at the open fire place !

    1-March-2008 at 11:40 pm

  6. I love your new header for the blog – so beautiful.

    Thanks for doing the meme – I love Doris Lessing’s writing too.

    Divakitty looks adorable as always. ;-)

    2-March-2008 at 1:58 am

  7. No taunting!

    2-March-2008 at 4:15 am

  8. Nice work lying in front of the fireplace Sophia – it looks like fun. We haven’t actually got a real fireplace, just a gas heater, but since we don’t get real snow here, it works nicely for us. Mum loved the beach pictures, although we’re not sure we want to be too close to that much water.

    Great meme – Mum keeps meaning to search out some other Doris Lessing books, so this meme is just one more spur.

    Purrs

    Gypsy & Tasha

    2-March-2008 at 4:43 am

  9. Bodega Bay is furry beautiful! Here in Buckeye country right now: snow, sleet, ice pellets, and rain…

    2-March-2008 at 4:50 am

  10. Oh man, that looks comfy. How often does DKM have to roll you over for maximum heat dispurtion?

    2-March-2008 at 5:07 am

  11. Oh man, Sophia, great fire to chillax in front of. Gree is going to be sooooooo jealous when she wakes up and sees it. I think I’ll go try to talk the beans into starting a fire for us. I may have to work too hard at it though, cuz it’s pretty warm here. Hmmmms. Maybe I’ll just go curl up in a sunspot instead. Hmmmms.
    Purrrrrrrs,
    your bud Pepi

    2-March-2008 at 7:30 am

  12. Oh Sophia, you look so warm and comfy and cozy. I’m telling my mom to start our fireplace right now! Fi, I wish you were here to snuggle in front of it with me …

    Rocky

    PS: I’m having a big clearance sale to help raise funds for the Cat Blogosphere if you’d like to come see.

    2-March-2008 at 8:33 am

  13. Any room for a few more kitties by your fire?
    The waves & beach are a nice sight for winter weary eyes!

    2-March-2008 at 8:37 am

  14. Ah, Sophia, you are gorgeous! And so are the beach pictures, gosh, I miss the beach!

    2-March-2008 at 9:07 am

  15. i’ve never been to the ocean but it sure looks pretty

    i think DK deserves to rule the roost, though she surely isn’t AS deserving as Fi and Lando of course!

    2-March-2008 at 10:22 am

  16. Lovely pics:) xxx

    2-March-2008 at 10:55 am

  17. This is a great mememe. The ocean sure looks nice where you live too – it’s a bit rougher where we live at the moment and we don’t have sand (we have pebbles). FAZ

    2-March-2008 at 11:31 am

  18. Mommy just stared and stared at those beach photos. I think I saw her get a leaky!

    2-March-2008 at 12:14 pm

  19. Mum loved the beach, but we like the pikchurs of you in furront of the fire best.

    2-March-2008 at 2:12 pm

  20. Yoo look really comfy in front of da fire…filthy savages is what mom calls da sticky kids dat come over and hang out wif our dad…she means it affectionatly of course.

    2-March-2008 at 2:22 pm

  21. I am very jealous DK and DKM. I want warm weather and sunshine!

    2-March-2008 at 3:51 pm

  22. You are the queen of Northern California and I am the queen of Southern California.

    Luv,
    Skittles, The Huntress

    p.s.

    My pet human says she hasn’t been to Bodega Bay in years! She used to stop at a Russian restaurant in Inverness on her way back, but she can’t remember the name. Ivan’s??

    Thanks once again for the walk down memory lane.

    WW

    2-March-2008 at 5:15 pm

  23. Pingback: Mind of Mog » Weekend Cat Blogging #143

  24. You’re so lucky–we have a fireplace but my mom hardly ever lights it for me.

    2-March-2008 at 7:08 pm

  25. Tha is an interesting meme. Mom loves the sound of the ocean. About 4 years ago she and the boy spent a week on Virginia Beach with her girlfriend and her 4 kids. Mom loved falling asleep to the ocean surf. Sigh.

    Roxy

    2-March-2008 at 7:19 pm

  26. Lux

    Beautiful & warm fireplace! I love the pictures of the beach, too …

    P.S. The snuggle arrived – thanks so much!

    2-March-2008 at 7:55 pm

  27. Lux

    Well, it *compliments my eye color – my green is actually somewhat lighter! :) The green in my eye changes, too, depending on what light I’m in …

    But we love the green of the snuggle!

    2-March-2008 at 8:35 pm

  28. You look sooOooo content, happy and warm! My Momma really loves that picture of you all stretched out and your eyes heavy-lidded as if you can’t stay awake another moment.

    2-March-2008 at 8:58 pm

  29. Gorgeous… Sophia loves the warm fire, I love seeing Sophia in front of the fireplace, and my human is getting all dreamy-eyed from thinking about the other photos. Personally, it looks like a bunch of water to me, and to be honest, I don’t see the attraction. But humans have this irrational need for water, probably because of their lack of fur.

    3-March-2008 at 11:47 am

  30. You look furry comfortable in front of the fireplace DivaKitty!

    3-March-2008 at 12:17 pm

Leave a Reply

