oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

Making a Squiggle

Step #1:  Gather some yarn, a crochet hook & scissors

DSCN1115

Step #2:  Make a slip knot and crochet a long chain

DSCN1116

Step #3:  Double crochet three stitches in the third chain from the hook (yes, technically, that make 4 in one, but it gives the squiggle a nose)

DSCN1119

Step #4:  Double crochet three stitches in each chain until you are about 1/4 – 1/3 of the way down the chain… or you run out of yarn.

DSCN1120

Step #5: The yarn will curl on it’s own.  Tie off & knot at the end. 

DSCN1121

Step #6:  Tighten the curls & your squiggle is done.  You can weave in the end rather than snipping if you wish, squiggles don’t last long enough in this house for me to weave the ends.

DSCN1122

Step #7:  Make a squillion squiggles for all your pals.

Squiggles

Step #8: Drop one on a test subject.

DSCN1161

Step #9: Torment the test subject until it starts to pounce the squiggle.

Must. Kill. Squiggle Worm.

Step #10: Keep your fingers out of harms way!

Must. Kill. Squiggle Worm.

Step #11: Send some off to a friend

squiggle-tunnel

Step #12:You can make a human-sized one, DKM calls this a scarf.

DSCN0249

Step #13: After the squiggle is ripped to pieces… repeat step one!

DSCN1115

22 responses

  1. KC

    O, furry interestin ‘n informativ. i’s wants a squiggle. specshully if they’s easy to destroy. hee hee.
    Purrs, KC

    pee ess: why don’t u’s auction off some more of them squiggles?

    30-May-2007 at 8:19 pm

  2. It’s too bad my mom doesn’t know how to do that crochet thing – those things look like fun!

    30-May-2007 at 9:45 pm

  3. very cool – gotta make some for my friend’s cat that looks like DK :-)

    30-May-2007 at 10:16 pm

  4. I love my squiggle! I wonder if Mom will learn to make one from your great tutorial? I hope so….
    Tara

    30-May-2007 at 10:19 pm

  5. Thanks for the illustrated directions! :) My mom crochets, so I have to bug her to make me some! (Shipping would have cost too much to get one from you, even though I donated to TeaCup.) My mom made a bunch of snuggles back in Canada for various shelters there, but none as beautiful as the ones your mom makes!

    30-May-2007 at 11:20 pm

  6. Those are very good instructions, but I still do not think my Mommie could make one of those. I think being a Squiggle Test Subject would be a very good occupation.

    31-May-2007 at 1:30 am

  7. This is cool! It’s How-To-Thursday. Mom made a post about the 13 steps to make a Gizzy quilt!

    I really like the squiggles, and Mom knows how to crochet. I have to see if she has any yarn…

    31-May-2007 at 2:26 am

  8. Now if Mom just knew how to crochet, we would be in business. She said she trued to learn when she was young and was all thumbs and never got the hang of it. Great job and great pictures. I think test subject would be the funniest part.

    31-May-2007 at 3:24 am

  9. OOOOHHHH!! Squiggles are my new favorite things. Seriously. Whenever I see a human I run over to my squiggle, sit on it, and meow. I LOVE squiggles. Thanks for showing us how to make them but something tells me I’ll be asking DKM if I need a new one.

    31-May-2007 at 5:14 am

  10. ooooo fanks for the instrukshuns. moooooooooommmmmmmmmmm get out your croshay hook!

    31-May-2007 at 5:44 am

  11. Thanks for the instuctions! My mommy learned to crochet last year at Michels Arts and Crafts so she is going to make some of these for the shelter to sell!

    31-May-2007 at 6:06 am

  12. Dang it! We wish out mom could crow-shay! She keeps wanting to learn but never gets around to it.

    31-May-2007 at 7:31 am

  13. Boo

    Sophia

    I think you had all the fun.

    Momma made me go to the Vet and get poked and stuck.
    Fankfully I am OK though.
    *whew* I didn’t want to have to go back.

    31-May-2007 at 7:38 am

  14. Hahahaha! Look at that huge pile of squiggles!

    31-May-2007 at 8:50 am

  15. Our momma will leave the crocheting up to the experts, such as your momma.

    31-May-2007 at 10:18 am

  16. Gotta show this to mum. MUM come here lookie, how to make a squiggle! I don’t care that it is hot and humid, that yarn just makes you more hot. Make some!

    31-May-2007 at 10:21 am

  17. Mom? Why are you babbling about more things to make? Mom, you look silly under the bed. Your fat human butt is sticking out anyways. Oh well.

    That’s cool, DKM and test subject Sophia! When I can get Mom out from under the bed, I’ll make her try it. Or maybe I’ll just get her to get some from you. hehehe

    Purrrrrrrrs,
    Gree

    31-May-2007 at 11:33 am

  18. Love the TT! I want to try that myself!

    Now, if only I could figure out how to get in to Mom’s crafts room…

    31-May-2007 at 11:45 am

  19. Boy Sophia, it sure looks like you are putting the attack on that squiggly. They sure are pretty. Mom has tried the crochet thing too and couldn’t do it. When Mom’s Mom tried to teach her she would get to keyed up and get it all too tight. She couldn’t relax like Grandma did when she did crocheted. Grandma used to make a lot of afghans.

    Casper

    31-May-2007 at 4:11 pm

  20. Haha…Looks like everybody is having so much fun!

    31-May-2007 at 5:48 pm

  21. wormie

    I love picture #10 – Sophia, you look so *fierce!. :)

    31-May-2007 at 9:09 pm

  22. Thanks fer da instructions! We luvs our squiggles!

    1-June-2007 at 7:56 pm

Leave a Reply

