oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

Photo Hunters

photohunter3lh6

Cookin’ with DKM – Onion Soup


Sweating the onions

Sweating

Toss in the sage & sherry

Toss in sage & sherry

Enjoy!

DKM's Onion Soup

Olive Oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
3 large onions, sliced into rings
2 T. sage, chiffonade
¼ c. sherry (I use Dry Sac Sherry for cooking)
4 c. veggie stock
Salt & pepper to taste

Sautée garlic in olive oil on med high until golden (be careful not to burn of the soup will be bitter), add in the onion, pinch of kosher salt and a pinch of sugar. Sweat the onions on med high for about 10 min. Reduce heat to med and sautée until all onions are golden brown.

Add in sage & sherry. Cook until the liquid evaporates. Add in stock, salt and pepper to taste and simmer for 10 min or so. While simmering, toast a hunk of fresh bread. Serve over toast with a sprinkle of Parmesan Reggiano.

17 responses

  1. I wonder if one (umm, me) would like this if she didn’t like onions? Looks great!

    18-May-2007 at 7:58 pm

  2. I LOVE onions–I can smell them from here!

    18-May-2007 at 8:55 pm

  3. I love onions very much! I order burgers and there’s got to be extra onions. I make our beef with onions and the onions got to be really crunchy. :) Thanks for sharing this one. :)

    18-May-2007 at 9:40 pm

  4. Thanks for the recipe. :) My humans say that looks yummy. :)

    18-May-2007 at 11:25 pm

  5. I KNEW you would have a great post for today! Yummy!

    19-May-2007 at 1:28 am

  6. Whoa, I can amost smell that frum here! Can I flop on yur kitchen floor fur awhile just to soak up sum extra good cookin?

    19-May-2007 at 4:38 am

  7. Great step-by-step:)

    19-May-2007 at 6:33 am

  8. Mmmm! Tasty!

    19-May-2007 at 7:05 am

  9. My goodness, this looks good. I think my husband would kill me if I actually made it. (He hates the smell of onions AND garlic. lol) I might have to do it anyway. :)

    -Brandi

    19-May-2007 at 7:28 am

  10. This looks oh so yummy!
    I did quite a different take on soup! ;0)

    19-May-2007 at 7:46 am

  11. srp

    I love onion soup but never made it from scratch… I made a carrot cake from scratch… it didn’t work… weighed seven pounds… could have been used for a boat anchor… so I don’t do scratch very often!

    19-May-2007 at 10:17 am

  12. Mom say it looks yummy. Smells good to us to. Thanks for the recipe.

    19-May-2007 at 11:04 am

  13. i love it. it’s like a cooking show.. :-) i must say i love the presentation of it.. a nicely laid out picture with great colors :-) (there goes the photographer/designer in me… :-) )

    19-May-2007 at 11:24 am

  14. That looks fantastic!

    19-May-2007 at 12:02 pm

  15. Onion are fantastic.
    This recipe sounds yummy.

    19-May-2007 at 4:25 pm

  16. Oh, that looks so good. It’s kinda chilly here today, and I think Mom will try this soup. Thanks very much.

    20-May-2007 at 4:13 am

  17. Looks very good!
    Some of these cooked items I’ve seen almost make me want to start cooking again :)
    Hope you have a super week!

    20-May-2007 at 8:13 am

Leave a Reply

