oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

Whisker Wednesday & I’m a Birdchick!

Eyebrow Whiskers

Eyebrow Whiskers

Neck furs that DKM calls whiskers ’cause they are white against the black.

Chest furs asking for a snorgle

DKM – Must. Snorgle. Neck Furs.

Hey I’m Birdchick II

There I was, minding my own business, doing my daily constitutional after work, reading the new Crate and Barrel catalogue when in bursts this with Sophia hot on her tail. I all of a sudden felt like Birdchick because (a) only Sharon would find a way to bird whilst on the toilet (b) my immediate thought was not for the health and safety of me or the cat but ‘Shit, where is my camera’ and (c) I thought, hmmm, what kind of bird is that.

So Sharon, Laura or Susan let me know – I’m guessing some type of finch.

Bird in the Bathroom

DKM Nosh

Don’t hate me because we have the best work day Farmer’s Market at the Ferry Building – but do check out my goodies!

Goodies from the Tues. market

25 responses

  1. I like the picture with the white whiskers! They look pretty cool against the black fur. And that bird looks terrified! It’s a good photo though – you had to click it right at the perfect time to get that one! :)

    3-April-2007 at 8:58 pm

  2. looks like some yummy vittles …

    3-April-2007 at 9:38 pm

  3. Wow, feathers in the bathroom! Mom agrees, looks like a female house finch, I just think Sophia must have been quite restrained not to eat it!
    Tara

    3-April-2007 at 9:47 pm

  4. What a cute little birdie! :)

    Gorgeous whiskers too. :)

    3-April-2007 at 11:10 pm

  5. Either a Finch or a blue bird-killing female sparrow. Do you have sparrows where you lives?
    The whiskers picture is soooo cute!

    4-April-2007 at 2:56 am

  6. Looks finchy, but I don’t know California birds!

    SO what did you do with it?

    4-April-2007 at 4:07 am

  7. Oh my those goodies look feline devine!

    Sophia you look as lovely as ever. We love the eye whiskers…both Abby and Boo have black eyebrows.

    J~
    I’ve started looking for 4 leaf clovers; wanna join me?

    ~B

    4-April-2007 at 6:07 am

  8. Lovely Sophia! So now yur sharin yur blog wif birds, too? Ok! It looks frightened.

    4-April-2007 at 7:02 am

  9. Did all of you survive the experience? FAZ

    4-April-2007 at 7:17 am

  10. Steve

    Not a finch.

    A sparrow of some kind. It’s really throwing me off. I’ll go out on a limb and say Swamp Sparrow.

    BTW, not all sparrows (62 species in North America) are evil bluebird killing machines. Just the non-native House Sparrow which isn’t a sparrow but a weaver finch type.

    4-April-2007 at 7:28 am

  11. Very nice white whiskers. I am always impressed at cats that have such pretty long whiskers. That bird is very interesting. He has skinny legs. What happened to him?

    4-April-2007 at 7:34 am

  12. Well – I live in Benicia CA right by the Benicia State Park if that helps ID the bird. I’m better with the larger birds, though… I’m happy a pelican didn’t burst in!

    The bird is fine, I tossed a towel on her and released her, much to Sophia’s great disapproval.

    4-April-2007 at 8:34 am

  13. A real live fev-ver toy!!!

    4-April-2007 at 9:58 am

  14. Hey what a cool toy!!!! I bet you played with it all day!

    The greens look pretty good, too. My slave sometimes serves fresh greens with my steak. I like that.

    :-)

    4-April-2007 at 10:58 am

  15. Sophia: All that beauty and you’re a hunting machine too!
    We had a sparrow in the house last year. All 3 of us were going nuts. Mom was able to open the big sliding glass door & he flew out on his own. Crap! We wanted to keep him!

    4-April-2007 at 11:23 am

  16. Looks like that was an interesting time. I’m not sure if Sophia was chasing the bird or vice versa. It is too bad though that it had to leave. It could have been a tasty snack.

    4-April-2007 at 12:39 pm

  17. DK, love the whiskers and the neck furs! And I’ve seen that kind of bird before but can’t think of it’s name. Not sure if it’s a finch. Love the yummy looking greens! And DKM, do you have a recipe blog? You should!

    4-April-2007 at 1:23 pm

  18. our Lady wants ta snorgle too. we’re just innerested in yur little fev-ver furrend. we wanna play too.

    4-April-2007 at 2:12 pm

  19. I love that when someone thinks “toilet birding” they think of me! Awesome!

    I’m wondering if this is a California Towhee? I’m using the Sparrows of the United States and Canada as an id tool. It’s gray and has a lot of buff and what looks like a red eye. However, the book does not list bathrooms as the usual habitat.

    I know some id experts look at my blog. I’ll link to this and see if anyone else wants to lay down an id.

    4-April-2007 at 3:33 pm

  20. California Towhee

    Birdchick is right, I think! I hope he’s ok!

    (I find that bdi.org is a really awesome resource for bird identifying – if you have a good visual on the bird!)

    4-April-2007 at 4:21 pm

  21. Wow, Diva Kittie, your own birdie inside your house. I have to watch mine at the feeders. Love the whisker too. Your black fur sets them off so nice.

    4-April-2007 at 5:20 pm

  22. beautuiful pikshurs Sophia!! You has lovely eyelash/whiskers.

    a fev-ver inside your house? OHHHHHHHHHHHHH you is so lucky. it looks, um tasty. Sorry. – Sammy

    4-April-2007 at 6:19 pm

  23. Mom likes our eyelashes best. Rabbie wins for the longest and most innocent looking, but we poodies haf little eyelashes Mom luvs.

    Great pictures Sophia

    4-April-2007 at 7:17 pm

  24. The key feature of a CA Towhee is not seen in that picture. They have an orange butt. Very distinctive in an otherwise LBJ. Amazing to find one in the bathroom. Pretty funny. Glad you were able to liberate it before your cat had a snack!

    4-April-2007 at 8:42 pm

  25. No wonder I couldn’t ID that toilet bird. It’s on the opposite side of the country than me.
    I have seen quite a few lifers from the upstairs bathroom.
    Birdchick=toilet birding. LOL!

    5-April-2007 at 8:45 pm

Leave a Reply

