oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

Dear Anonymous,

No, I will not stop posting links on the Cat Blogsphere page that are related to my buns. Diva Kitty and the Fluffies is a blog started over 2 years ago for my family and friends to keep in contact, to chat and visit with long time internet friends, to meet new friends and, most importantly, to have fun.

A bun is a ‘proper pet’ as much as a cat, a dog or a fish is. The fact that you feel buns are a food source is not my issue. I actually believe that no animal should be a food source unless you can personally kill it, skin it and prepare it. Cats, dogs and horses have been used as a food source for centuries and they continue to be used today despite the fact that Americans do not consider them a food source. I’m quite sure your God did not say, “I love cats more that bunnies, please eat bunnies and pamper cats.”

I’m sorry if you feel that it should be a feline only environment; however, the buns have been internet buddies with cats like William, Max, Puff, Mia and HOMBC since before the Cat Blogsphere was created. The buns have teleported to almost every party, been to the Cat Olympics (even thought they could not participate and they didn’t take it personally), and have been active participants and commenters in the community.

I’m sorry that you are so narrow-minded that you cannot see the value of diversity in pets, which leads me to believe that you cannot see the value of diversity in people either. Not all of us are white, southern Christians (yes, I do know exactly who you are; your IP address gave you away).

If you are so offended by the buns, then please, by all means stop visiting my blog. Stop visiting the Cat Blogsphere. Stop using the internet which is probably the best tool to help us understand other cultures, religions & ways of life and to celebrate the uniqueness of us all, human, cat or bun.

DKM

Note to All: Thanks for your comments! I did want to clarify that I do not accuse all white, southern Christians of being non-diverse just this specific person who refers to herself as a white, southern Christian, as if that will make what she wrote more palatable…

On a side note: I think she needs to re-read that Book she cherishes so… because what I remember as the main point of my catechism teachings was the Golden Rule “Do on to others as you would have them do on to you.”

25 responses

  1. I agree, we lilke having the fluffies around. Without them I would never have learned to do the Binkie Bop! And since the person posted as a-nony-mous, they aren’t willing to stand up for what they believe.

    Eat a fluffy? Well, as you said, only if you could catch it and do all the other stuff like you said.

    Purrs to all.

    2-April-2007 at 7:41 pm

  2. Thx Derbs! We love you!

    2-April-2007 at 7:52 pm

  3. There always has to be a jerk or two or twenty to try and spoil our fun. You keep them buns blogging and don’t worry about someone with way too much time on their hands.

    CalicoMom Toni

    2-April-2007 at 8:33 pm

  4. The buns are my friends, too. I hope you keep showing them, and posting them on the cat blogosphere. I would be very sad if I couldn’t see the cute bunnies any more.

    3-April-2007 at 2:19 am

  5. i never knew how cool buns could be until i got one then i heard about disapproving rabbits and then was opened to the world of lots of people that just think all kinds of animals are awesome… glad for your bunnies and kitties… and love the last pic of Fi – who has the same white nose as my luther – so cute!

    oh you could also tell this “white, southern Christian” that there is not one mention of a CAT in the Bible (i also happen to be a Christian and not ashamed of it!) … i love using that little factoid as i am more of a doggie person than a kitty person but love the kitties too :-)

    … gotta go see… any mention of cute wittle furry bunnies?… hmmm…

    keep on bloggin’
    carri ann
    aka archi’s mum

    3-April-2007 at 3:07 am

  6. Nice one DKM. You managed to speak plainly, and still use your manners. I wish I could be as polite to people like that.

    BTW – just about to post something to my blog that might make you smile.

    3-April-2007 at 3:39 am

  7. Well said! Twinkie is not just our pet rabbit, she’s a member of our family, as all pets are, be they cats, dogs, lizards, snakes, horses or anything else. (Some days she’s more civilised than the child ;)

    3-April-2007 at 4:47 am

  8. Buns are people too.

    3-April-2007 at 7:42 am

  9. You tell ’em, DKM!

    -China, who loves bunnies and has never eaten one (although I’ve chased a couple in the back field – but they’re way too fast for me)

    3-April-2007 at 8:08 am

  10. We like the buns! In fact, Dad likes them so much that he wants to get one. (We may or may not).
    We think that whatever you consider a pet/family member IS a pet/family member, although we really don’t think snakes are cuddly…
    keep the blogging buns!

    3-April-2007 at 9:13 am

  11. We like the bunnies, too! We like them so much we emulate them with our bunny kicks!

    3-April-2007 at 10:55 am

  12. Thanks for sticking up for us buns, DKM!!! Lando and Fi are lucky to have a mom like you.

    3-April-2007 at 11:35 am

  13. We love the fluffies DKM!

    3-April-2007 at 1:03 pm

  14. I love kitties. But its the Buns that make this place so special!

    Buns now, Buns forever!!

    —Beezer

    3-April-2007 at 2:51 pm

  15. We love the Buns also and will put the bitey on anyone who is mean to them!

    3-April-2007 at 6:33 pm

  16. Whoa! We missed this altogefur in the mess wif the CB going down.
    We luvs our bunny furriends at the Cat Blogosphere! ‘Lando and Fi and all furriends of felines are welcome at the Cat Blogosphere bloggy no matter what kinda critter they are. It says so right in the about page. HMPH!

    3-April-2007 at 6:35 pm

  17. KC

    O, no, we loves tha bunnies. we’d haf never lerned bout blinkies or nuffin if it weren’t fur tha buns.

    Note from ML: I must have completely missed this. Bunnies are poodins, too. They have just as much right here as the kitties and doggies!

    3-April-2007 at 6:49 pm

  18. Way to go! Cat bigotry is not a good thing. I’d like to go put the big bitey on that Anonymouse person, because I’m a cat and my best friend in the whole world was a bun! And if my pal Dustbunny was still alive, you can bet she’d be blogging right along with me! I say the more buns the better!!

    Rocky

    3-April-2007 at 6:49 pm

  19. You go DKM! You said it very well and I agree w/everyone else! I love hearing and coming to visit the buns! And I like the point the Meezer Gang made, “we emulate them with our bunny kicks!”!! Hell, have you ever seen, I think it was on Animal Planet, the little kitten that hopped like a bunny?! Adorable! Anyway, we love you Orlando and Fiona!

    3-April-2007 at 7:08 pm

  20. You tell ’em DKMom

    3-April-2007 at 8:30 pm

  21. Oh suffering succotash!

    People like that need to go find a rock.
    We love the buns! We want more buns and funs!!!

    Gee the last thing we need to be is elistist about cats.

    4-April-2007 at 6:04 am

  22. Buns is cool! They’s a lot like kitties, but eat funny an haf big ears. They’re grate at parties, specially on the trampoline.

    4-April-2007 at 6:59 am

  23. whhhaaaaaaat? a “cats only” blogosphere would be speciesism, not to mention boring. we love our bunny furrends, and woofie furrends, and fev-ver furrends, and reptile furrends, and swimmy furrends, and…

    4-April-2007 at 2:06 pm

  24. This just irks me. Buns and just as much a pet as a cat. Grrrr. People are the same way about ratties; “oh they’re vermin. They should all be killed.” No respect for our differences. I am so irritated for you, DKM! I’m glad you are still active in that community. Go you!

    Whew!

    Now, on to another topic. A springtime Secret Paws, maybe? *grin*

    4-April-2007 at 8:25 pm

  25. We love the Buns! We don’t know what happened cause Mom has been away for a few days, and we couldn’t pry open the laptop, but we love the Fluffies.

    6-April-2007 at 4:41 pm

Leave a Reply

