oh and DKM – her food, crochet, knitting and stuff

Archive for 15-January-2007

I have a dream…

Dreams

Hold fast to dreams
For if dreams die
Life is a broken-winged bird
That cannot fly.

Hold fast to dreams
For when dreams go
Life is a barren field
Frozen with snow.

Langston Hughes

Never stop dreaming…

Midnight Monday

My back is supposed to be all midnight… but I have a rogue white hair growing

Rouge White Hair

Carrot & Fennel Salad

This week’s book – I heart Michael!

This week's book

Bento 1/15

Bento 1/15 - Carrot/Fennel salad

Carrot & Fennel salad, Mozzarella in carrozza, onion soup, & homemade panforte (made mine with dates and currents because I don’t care for citron)

Carrot & Fennel salad from Casual Cooking (adapted to what I had in the fridge)

½ pound bunch carrots, shaved into ribbons
2 medium fennel bulbs, fronds and stems removed, thinly sliced
3 T. olive oil
2 T. lemon juice
1 T. champagne vinegar
¼ medium red onion, thinly sliced
1 cup tangerine sections (I used grapefruit sections)
2 cups watercress sprigs, stems removed (I don’t really care for watercress, so I use tarragon and Italian parsley, chiffonade)
Salt & pepper

Place carrots, fennel, oil, lemon and vinegar in a bowl – toss and let sit for 20 min. Add in onion, tangerine (or grapefruit) and greens. Season with salt and pepper & enjoy.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 470 other followers